S.O.S. Challenge!

SOSChallenge

I know, I know what have I been doing and why haven’t I updated this blog in forever!

Well I’ve been enjoying my time learning the cooking style added in the last update…and yes I will write a more detailed post about that soon!

I also have a new personal best for days survived and I have started to upload that series to my youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUGJQgB9EWE7Z7dvcKo3o4Q

However recently I was asked by fellow survivors at The Long Dark Community Facebook Group, and especially Stephen Pushak, if I had come up with a challenge involving the new Region Hush River Valley.

screen_2db8b4c3-2bce-4008-ab4f-7d8220fddff8_hi

So of course…I went out and planned it…and completed it! And there’s more about the challenge after the break!

What is the S.O.S. Challenge?

We all know that S.O.S. stands for Save Our Souls, but what is the point of the S.O.S. Challenge?

The S.O.S. Challenge will have you visit all but 2 regions…well technically you could visit all but one depending on your path!

The idea is that you start a random sandbox on any difficulty, depending on your start location you must visit the first S: it will be either the Summit of Timberwolf Mountain or the (Sea) Top of the Lonely Lighthouse in Desolation Point! At the top of either you must take a screenshot of you either Tossing a lit flare or Firing a shot from the flare gun!

screen_6119b290-3a07-4c7b-ada6-9a7d29656623_hi

After this your objective is to make it to the town of Milton and then to O, the Outback of Hush River Valley!

Your goal in HRV is of course survival but beyond that your goal is to reach the Signal Fire. The signal fire will have plenty of supplies around it to help, a Moose Satchel will be part of your haul. You must take a screenshot of the Signal Fire itself before you exit out of the HRV- included below is an image taken from one potential Signal Fire site looking towards the other site where my fire spawned during the Challenge.

screen_612a5e88-47c9-4948-93a7-d6e8924714c1_hi

Once you have left the HRV…then you have to hit your final S…either the Summit of Timberwolf Mountain or the Top of the Lonely Lighthouse and fire off a flare! Don’t forget your picture!

screen_e5992f7d-9880-4fd4-8f02-134b63c2b074_hi

The S.O.S. Challenge is not a race…but if you want to check your time…you can sleep after you fire your last flare. Sometimes when you wake up time is displayed on the screen and you can take a screenshot! Also after you sleep you can exit to the main menu…and then got to sandbox…Load…and hi-light the S.O.S. challenge game and take a screenshot!

And that is the S.O.S. Challenge…watch for my LP of the Challenge to be uploaded over the next few days!

Also new DEV Diary with Episode 3 and 1-2 Redux news! http://www.thelongdark.com/news/dev-diary-august-2018/

Until next time!

Leave a comment